Lash Primer Battle: Benefit VS JCat

 

Before anything, I want to tell you guys that I. HAVE. NO. LASHES. HAHA

Okay, I’m exaggerating. But really, I barely have any lashes! Putting a mascara alone isn’t enough to open up my eyes, so I swear by a good lash primer.

My holy grail lash primer is Lancome’s Cils Booster XL Super-Enhancing Macara Base ($25.50) . It’s in my May Wishlist. But I always love to try new products (and find more afforadable dupes), so here I am testing two lash primers: the Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer ($24) VS the JCat Lash Primer Mascara ($5.99 !!!).

I. UPON APPLICATION OF PRIMER

DSCF4037
APPLIED: Benefit They’re Real Primer

On this eye, I applied Benefit’s Lash Primer. Since it’s tinted, it didn’t leave any white fiber on my lashes. It wasn’t clumpy at all. But I couldn’t tell from the primer alone if it was going to volumize my lashes after mascara.

DSCF4055
APPLIED: JCat Primer

On this eye, I applied JCat’s Lash Primer. The product left a pretty clumpy amount of fiber once applied, but it seemed more volumizing than the Benefit one. When it dries, it stays white.

II. UPON APPLICATION OF MASCARA

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Showing you a before and after photo looking at the camera, and looking down. πŸ˜‰
The primer definitely volumized and lengthened my lashes, though it looked a little clumpy after. Nothing a lash comb can’t fix though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the JCat Primer, my mascara applied with almost no clumps! It lengthened my lashes to a great extent. The effect of the primer looked more subtle than the Benefit primer.

III. FINAL LOOK

DSCF4076
Left: Benefit; Right: JCat

The JCat primer was definitely more lengthening, and the Benefit primer was more volumizing.

DSCF4070
Left: Benefit; Right: JCat

You can tell here that the Jcat side is longer than the Benefit side. The JCat side is also less clumpy. Not bad at all for such an affordable price!

Although not that noticeable, the JCat side wasn’t as black as the Benefit side (maybe it’s because of the white cast from the primer). If you like your lashes to be extra BLACK, then this specific JCat primer isn’t for you (they have other non-white primers too though).

REMOVAL:
In terms of removing the mascara and primer, Benefit was easier to take off. The JCat primer was more difficult to remove as it stuck to my lashes more. Also, when you remove the mascara from your JCat primer, there are still white fibers stuck to it! Just use a good oil-based remover to make the process easier.

FINAL VERDICT?

I like the effect of the JCat lash primer more because it’s less clumpy and it makes my lashes look really long!
It retails for $5.99 only so you can’t go wrong with that!

 

What’s YOUR favorite lash primer? Let me know in the comments below!

xxx,
Hye

Leave a Reply

